Sabbats · Spells & Ritual

My Samhain 2016 Ritual

So I’m going to share what I did for my Samhain 2016 ritual. I will be censoring some of the more personal bits, but I will share as much as I can. I think I will start sharing more of my spells and rituals, as long as they aren’t too personal. I may even start posting some of my divination results.

First things first, I gather all my stuff:
-Handful of crystals (auralite, kyanite, labradorite, angelite, celestite, black tourmaline)
-Wand
-Tarot deck
-Pentacle necklace
-Candles
-Bottle and assorted herbs & oils
-Lighter
-Pen & paper

I set up my altar and light the candles. I use my wand to ‘draw’ a circle of white light to protect me and magickal area. I then ground myself. I then recite the invocation in Solitary Witch by Silver Ravenwolf:

Forests misty, dark and deep
the door between the worlds release
Loved ones, family, favored pets
To join me in this evening’s fest.
The birth of new, the death of old
I will this cycle to unfold.
Each leaf that drifts upon the ground
Will bury all that is unsound
And in its place will rise anew
The gift of love the whole year through.
With harvest gold and autumn sun
I reap the best that I have done.
And as the days grow shorter still
With longer nights and winter’s chill
I’ll work to build a better place
For every soul and human race.
Wild autumn winds and crone’s dark voice
Speak to me of wisdom’s choice
Let me hear your words of fate
So I know which path to take!
Those of you who went before
Speak to me from crossroad’s door
Whispers words of love and care
Let me know that you are there.

samhaintarotspread

I get my tarot deck and shuffle it three times to clear, reset, and charge it’s energies. I use this Samhain spread in the picture. This picture is credited to ethony.com. I won’t be sharing my results, as it interprets to a very upsetting, and very personal, issue I am currently having. The results did however seem like the situation would improve and get better.

I sit cross-legged with my hands held out and I take in the energies from the universe. This is much like drawing down the moon and drawing down the sun, but I prefer all the energies.

The next bit contains two different bits of sigil magick. The first one is a “new year, new me” type of spell. I made a sigil for “old me” and crumpled it up. I would suggest burning it, but since I was inside for this ritual, I didn’t think that was the best choice. I then made a sigil for “new me”, “make myself better”, and a few other things I’d like to change over the next year. I then charged and empowered them.

samhainsigils.jpg

The other sigil spell contains making an oil. I won’t be sharing the exact intention of this spell, but I combined herbs and oils into a little bottle. I visualized it charging as I was shaking it. I then drew a sigil on myself on the designated chakra. If you have a problem speaking up for yourself, you should draw a sigil on your throat chakra. If you have a problem with visualization, you would draw a sigil on your 3rd eye. Etc, etc.

I then recited the prayer “May the divine bless me and mine with new opportunities.” three times.

After that, I enchanted my pentacle necklace with protective energies. I did this by using my wand to direct the energies into the necklace while visualizing it filling up with a white light.

The last thing I did in my ritual was meditate. I tried to look for where I need to go and be guided towards to help me along my spiritual path. I did see a few things. A forest/wooded area, a wolf, and beads that looked like mala beads. I also saw a man with a red car (I only saw his hands and the headlights so I couldn’t identify him). I don’t necessarily know what that means, but I’m sure I’ll find out soon enough.

Then I grounded once again, broke my circle by using my wand to “cut” the circle, blew out the candles, and ended my ritual.

I know it wasn’t a super fancy ritual, but I really enjoyed it. Samhain has already passed, but I really wanted to share with you what I did. It was the first big ritual I had done in quite some time (almost two years). Hopefully I can keep getting the sabbats off so I can keep performing these kinds of rituals.

Please keep in mind, all of my posts are based on my experiences, and my opinions that I have gathered from my research. If you disagree, just remember: nothing in witchcraft is set in stone. There is no right way, or wrong way; just your way and my way. If you have something you’d like to add, please do so kindly in the comments.

Blessed be, brothers and sisters.

For Samhain Correspondences.

Leave a Reply

