Sabbats

Litha Correspondences

Litha.jpg

Other names: Midsummer, Mean Samhraidh
Date: June 20, 21, or 22
Meaning of the word: Litha means “moon”
Primary Focus: Love, marriage, divination
Age of holiday: at least 10,000 years old
Astrological Sign: 1° Cancer
Planetary ruler: Moon

Color Associations: Blue, gold, green, red, orange, yellow, white

Herbs: Apple, Chamomile, Chicory, Chickweed, Mugwort, Mistletoe, Heather, Peony, Pine, Roses, Vervain, Heartsease, Houseleek, Lavender, Rowan, Saint John’s Wort

Stones: All green stones, Diamond, Lapis

Incense: Cedar, Frankincense, Lavender, Lemon, Myrrh, Pine, Rose, Sage,

Animals and Beasts: Butterflies, Caterpillars, Cattle, Dragon, Faeries, Firebird, Horses, Robin, Satyrs, Sea creatures, Thunderbird, Wren

Symbols: flowers and fresh early garden produce, the spear or sword of the sun god and the bountiful cauldron of the goddess ringed in flowers, solar cross or sun symbols, fireworks, sea shells

Food: all early summer fruits and vegetables, ale and mead, cheese dishes, honey cakes, mangoes, melted red wine, rose ice cream, strawberries, whipped cream on fruit

Magickal Ideas for Your Ritual:
-Bonfire leaping
-Begin your ritual at dawn
-Build a circle of stones
-Spells and Rituals for: luck, protection, health, transformation, careers, and relationships
-Herb drying
-Study hex signs and paint one, adding its empowerment in your ritual
-Work magicks for partnerships and unions
-Collect morning dew for holy water

Litha Invocation*
Gemini to Cancer
The moon becomes the Queen
Mighty Herne pursues her
In the forest dark and green.
Summer’s bright enchantment
Workings of my will
“I know” begins the power
That turns the magick mill.

Oceans glitter in the hear
As passions raise the tide
The Oak and Holly navigate
For the favors of the bride.
Summer’s bright enchantment
Workings of my will
“I know” begins the power
That turns the magick mill.

Faeries dance upon the air
Making circles round
Luring humans to the earth
Beneath the sacred mound.
Summer’s bright enchantment
Workings of my will
“I know” begins the power
That turns the magick mill.

Roman Fanus plays the flute
The notes a binding spell
Of love and healing conjured
From the waters of the well.
Summer’s bright enchantment
Workings of my will
“I know” begins the power
That turns the magick mill.

Shakespeare’s night of potions
Bright world of in between
Where gnomes hide buried treasure
And devas dance unseen.
Summer’s bright enchantment
Workings of my will
“I know” begins the power
That turns the magick mill.

Crossroads vibrate open
The dead no longer rest.
I am a witch and I know how
To conjure up the best!
Summer’s bright enchantment
Workings of my will
“I know” begins the power
That turns the magick mill.

Litha Incense
Time: Best mixes the week prior to June 21.
Herbs:
¼ teaspoon Ginger
1 cup Mastic Gum
¼ cup Marigold Petals
½ cup Mugwort
Oils:
9 drops Heliotrope Oil
9 drops Lilac Oil
5 drops Honeysuckle Oil
Chant:
High time of the Faeries. High time of the Sun.

Please keep in mind, all of my posts are based on my experiences, and my opinions that I have gathered from my research. If you disagree, just remember: nothing in witchcraft is set in stone. There is no right way, or wrong way; just your way and my way. If you have something you’d like to add, please do so kindly in the comments.

Blessed be, brothers and sisters.

*Credited to “Solitary Witch” by Silver RavenWolf

One thought on “Litha Correspondences

Leave a Reply

