Every Day Witch

A Little Bit on Dream Interpretation

dreaminterpretation.jpg

So, I had a dream a few nights ago that I’d like to look into. I thought I would share my process of interpretation while trying to find out what message my dream was trying to give me.

The first thing you should do when working on interpreting your dream would be to write the dream down. When you do this, you should try to write down anything that sticks out to you. Even if it’s a picture on the wall, if it sticks out, it is important.

Dream:
I was at my grandparent’s house with my parents and sisters. It was starting to get dark out and I looked out the window. There were panthers in the backyard (at least 50) and I took a picture. The flash was on so it scared them away, but I was able to get another picture. I went to show my mother and when she looked out the back door there was a gorilla. She made us all go into the back bedroom and closed the door behind us. The door wouldn’t shut properly (there was an inch between the door and the door frame) and it was like it was made from paper. A cheetah came to the door and was sniffing and poking it’s head through the door. I was trying to keep the door shut, but none of my family was trying to help. They were all sitting on the bed, talking casually. The cheetah came through and tried to take a bite at me. It was on top of me and I was trying to hold it off. I could hear my mother yelling “it’s going to eat her”, “it’s going to eat her alive”. A jaguar then came in slowly and was about to pounce on me. Then I woke up.

Now that you have all of your dream written down, it will be easier to find the major symbolism in your dream. What you need to find is the meanings of all the unusual things, things that stick out, and anything that changed the way you feel or thought. To do this, you should find a book or website that finds the meaning of dreams, like Dreammoods, and search the symbolism in your dreams. I highly suggest writing all the symbols and their meanings in a list-like format, in order of which they appear (since it’s easiest to interpret the dream as a whole, that way).

Taking Pictures: To dream that you are taking a picture suggests that you need to focus more attention to some situation or relationship. Perhaps, you feel that you need to recapture some past moments in a relationship. Alternatively, taking a picture refers to your desires to hold onto a certain moment in your life.
Panther: To see a panther in your dream signifies lurking danger and enemies working to do you harm. It represents darkness, death, and rebirth. On a more positive note, panthers signify power, beauty, and/or grace. Consider the feel of your dream to determine which meaning applies.
Gorilla: To see a gorilla in your dream suggests that you may be too “over the top” in your behavior. Perhaps you are compensating for your rigidity and stiffness in your waking life. Alternatively, the gorilla symbolizes your primitive impulses, wild nature, and repressed sexual energies.
Not Being Able to Shut Doors: Not being able to close or lock a door in your dream is usually your subconscious telling you that you can’t run from things.
Cheetah: To see a cheetah in your dream suggests that you need to get moving and be more active in pursuit of your goals. Perhaps you have been a little lazy and you need to get off from that seat.
Not Being Helped: Not being helped or being ignored in a dream may symbolize that something is highly important to you but not to others. You may feel like something needs to be done.
About to Be Eaten Alive/Bit: Being eaten alive in a dream usually symbolizes the fear of being consumed by a situation or emotion. But it can also symbolize feeling sad, overwhelmed, or guilty about a current situation.
Jaguar: To see a jaguar in your dream represents speed, agility, and power.

Once you have all the meanings written down, you should then document your feelings before, during and after the dream. How you feel before having a dream doesn’t always impact your dreams, but if you have some very strong emotions before you fall asleep, you should document it. You should also note that any type of trauma can affect your dreams. How you feel during your dream is super important, this usually symbolizes how your subconscious feels about the situation. How you feel after the dream is a little less important, unless you wake with strong emotions, or physical pain.

How did I feel before the dream? Neutral.
How did I feel during the dream? Afraid, irritated.
How did I feel after the dream? Neutral.

Now it is time to put it all together. You don’t necessarily need to put the meanings in the order they appeared in your dream. What is easiest for me, is to go over all of the meanings and try to put them together in a manner that makes sense.

You will need to consider your feelings when doing this. If you are happy when you see a raven in your dream, then your subconscious is telling you that you won’t be upset about the betrayal or death that the raven is symbolizing.

When you try to put all of the meanings into one interpretation, it is important to remember that your dreams may not be representing a current situation, but possibly a past or future event. So when you are interpreting your dream, try to break it down into a meaning for one situation, as some of the meanings and symbolizations can make the exact situation present itself to you.

Interpretation:
I do believe this dream is about my weight loss journey. I am always thinking about how I want my body to look like it was pre-pregnancy. But the way I am going about it (practically starving myself) is too over the top and I can, and probably will be, consumed by it. I can’t run or hide from the feeling of wanting to look better, but it isn’t seen as an important issue to anyone but myself. To reach my goals, I need to get up and get moving.

You should avoid trying too hard to interpret your dreams, because that can keep you from finding its true meaning. When you become stumped or are confused about what your dream could mean, simply write down what you can interpret and move on. Dreams like this could represent situations from the future, or it could represent hidden knowledge that you are not ready for.

You should also know that dream interpretation can take a while to get used to, so there is no need to rush or get down on yourself if you can’t get the hang of it right away. Practice makes perfect.

Keep in mind, all of my posts are based on my opinions that I have gathered from my research. You may disagree or have something to add. Please do so kindly in the comments.

Blessed be, brothers and sisters.

Leave a Reply

