For Beginners · Spells & Ritual

Casting a Circle

In many Pagan religions, one of the traditions is to cast a circle when needing a sacred space to perform magickal workings. Quite a few traditions do not require casting a circle, and most will cast them differently. I will provide a few different ways I have casted circles, you can modify them to better fit your path.

Before you cast your circle, you should really consider doing a few things first. If you will be using the directions, or elements, you should use a compass to find the exact directions. Then you need to figure out where and how big you want your circle. You can do this by placing physical markers, like candles or stones, to show the outer boundaries of the circle. You should also have your work space set up and all your tools gathered before you cast the circle, since many believe you should not leave the circle after you cast it.

Casting a Basic Circle

  • Place four makers in each of the cardinal directions, on the border of where your circle will be.
  • Stand in the center and say: “I cast this circle to enhance my energies and protect me from all harm. I create this circle and only the most balanced and positive energies may enter.”
  • Face North and say “I call upon the guardians of the North, elementals of Earth.”
  • Face East and say “I call upon the guardians of the East, elementals of Air.”
  • Face South and say “I call upon the guardians of the South, elementals of Fire.”
  • Face West and say “And  call upon the guardians of the West, elementals of Water.”
  • Face North and say “ Guard and guide me. Welcome to the circle.”
  • Now visualize light and energy creating your circle and say “My circle is cast. So mote it be.”

To close this circle, recite: “My work is done. Thank you, my guardians and elementals. May my magick disperse into the universe and may my circle end. So mote it be.”

Something simple to add to this circle is lighting elemental candles while calling to each of the directions, and snuffing them when you close.

Casting a More Advanced Circle

  • Place four elemental candles in the cardinal directions and two candles to represent the deity/deities you will be working with.
  • Light one white candle (taper works best) and say: “I cast this circle to enhance my energies and protect me from all harm. I create this circle and only the most balanced and positive energies may enter.”
  • Face North, light elemental candle with original candle, and say: “Hail to the guardians of the North, mighty Earth who feeds us, our home, our mother. Welcome the the circle.”
  • Face East, light elemental candle with original candle, and say: “Hail to the guardians of the East, blessed air who cools us all, the breath of life in all. Welcome the the circle.”
  • Face South, light elemental candle with original candle, and say: “Hail to the guardians of the South, sacred flame that sparks life in all, our protection, our father. Welcome to the circle.”
  • Face West, light elemental candle with original candle, and say: “Hail to the guardians of the West, waters of life, where all are cleansed and reborn. Welcome the the circle.”
  • Light the deity candles and say: “God, Goddess, guardians, and guides. Please join me in this circle. Please lend me your energies and protect me.”
  • Now visualize light and energy creating your circle and say “My circle is cast. So mote it be.”

To close this circle:

  • Recite: “God, Goddess, guardians, and guides. Thank you for joining me in this circle. Know you are always welcome here.” Extinguish deity candles.
  • Face West and say: “Hail to the guardians of the West, Thank you for attending this circle. May you go in peace and know you are always welcome here.” Extinguish candle.
  • Face South and say: “Hail to the guardians of the South, Thank you for attending this circle. May you go in peace and know you are always welcome here.” Extinguish candle.
  • Face East and say: “Hail to the guardians of the East, Thank you for attending this circle. May you go in peace and know you are always welcome here.” Extinguish candle.
  • Face North and say: “Hail to the guardians of the North, Thank you for attending this circle. May you go in peace and know you are always welcome here.” Extinguish candle.
  • Recite: “May my magick disperse into the universe and may my circle end. So mote it be.”

If you’re wanting a quick way to close a circle, you can always take your athame and ‘cut’ the boundary of your circle.

If you are still not sure on how you would like to cast your circle, here is are a few “how to cast circles” pages that I found useful when I tried to figure out how to cast my own.

Keep in mind, all of these are based on my opinions I found from my research. You may disagree or have something to add. Please do so kindly in the comments.

Blessed be, brothers and sisters.

One thought on “Casting a Circle

Leave a Reply

